Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

New Ground: Stravinsky, Poulenc, Raff & Riley

February 20 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Cropped version

Buy tickets here.

Joachim Raff: Sinfonietta for Double Wind Quintet (last three movements) (1873)

Francis Poulenc: Suite Française (1935)

Igor Stravinsky: Octet for Wind Instruments (1923)

Terry Riley: In C (1964)

Woodwinds and brass take center stage in this concert featuring ground-breaking innovations from the world’s most fascinating composers. Exploring the geniuses who created neo-classical and minimalist styles, MusicaNova Orchestra performs an eye opening program including Stravinsky’s Octet, Poulenc’s folksy rendition of Renaissance dances and Raff’s lush? “sinfonietta” performed by our? double wind quintet. Special musical guests will join the orchestra for a shimmering finale, Riley’s “In C” with a mesmerizing score that takes but one page.

Read the program notes.


February 20
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Categories:


Musical Instrument Museum Theater
4725 E. Mayo Blvd.
Phoenix, AZ 85050 United States
+ Google Map
View Venue Website